Thread: Pole Elastication - Top Kits and Cupping Kits

Beginner Member

Smile Pole Elastication - Top Kits and Cupping Kits

Hi all!

I've just joined the forum so hello to you all Hopefully I can share my own advice and gain some new tips and tricks in the process from you all!

I have a question regarding pole elastication. I've been fishing for around 15 years now so I have a decent amount of knowledge of course and Carp fishing. However, I'm struggling a little with my pole as I've never actually had to elasticate my top kits (bought a pole with top kits already elasticated). I've just bought a Maver Grimreaper 13m pole. Used but in very good condition. It's come with 4 top kits all elasticated to different ratings. It's also come with a cupping kit. Unfortunately the top kits are all at different lengths and the cupping kit is the longest of the sections. I'm wanting to know if I can actually cut the cupping kit down a little to match the top kits? 2 top kits are longer than the other 2 top kits so basically I'm wanting everything the same length. There's no point having a cupping kit at different lengths to top kits right!

I'm worried that if I cut the top kits back too much I will be unable to find a large enough PTFE bush to fit the top kits. Especially if I'm wanting to use a light elastic e.g 3/4.

Any help on this would be brilliant! Thanks in advance

Andy

Site Regular

Been a while since I used a pole, how much difference in lengths are they, if it's just a few inches you may be better just making slight adjustments on where you hold the pole?

Beginner Member

Quote Originally Posted by andyd View Post
    Been a while since I used a pole, how much difference in lengths are they, if it's just a few inches you may be better just making slight adjustments on where you hold the pole?