Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Canon 100d Self Takes

  1. #1
    Site Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Frimley
    Posts
    931

    Default Canon 100d Self Takes

    I've got a 100d that came with a remote, the issue is it won't take more than one shot on the remote setting and there is a max 2 second delay. That's not enough time to pick the fish up!

    The camera doesn't have WIFI just infa red.

    The camera has a self take (non remote) setting that takes 10 shots 10 seconds after pressing the button on the camera. Does anyone know of a device or remote that would trigger this?

    I've read a little bit about intervalometers, would one of these do the job? If so could someone recommend one?

    Sorry if it sounds like a daft question, I'm terrible with anything to do with technology!!!
    Oh Kathy Martin....

  2. #2
    Platinum Tuttifrutti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Posts
    11,508

    Default

    Hi Dave, i'm not sure if your camera does take an intervalometer, but if it does, it's the way forward. You can set a delay up for as long as you like to sort the fish and hold it up, then fire off shots with a second or two delay to help you reframe and steady yourself, and you can take anything up to about 999 shots
    The first rule of Baitboat Club is you don't talk about Baitboat Club!!!

  3. #3
    Site Regular TAB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Farnborough
    Posts
    601

    Default

    look on the bay for Yongnuo remote shutter release. They are about 20-24 for a pair. One goes in the hot shoe and the other one you hold. Much like the shutter release on the camera, half pressing it will focus the camera for you (if it's on auto focus).
    It will be the best 20ish you spend.

  4. #4
    Site Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Frimley
    Posts
    931

    Default

    Thanks for your replies.

    Tuttifrutti, do you know if they generally work from infrared? It's a fairly new camera so hopefully it will accept it.

    Tab, would that mean I would have to have it in my hand with the fish or would it trigger the timer?

    Thanks
    Oh Kathy Martin....

  5. #5
    Platinum Tuttifrutti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Posts
    11,508

    Default

    My one is corded/plug-in which is my preference - I can set everything up, take a shot or to to make sure everything is framed right, then click the button to start the cycle and just put the remote on the ground
    The first rule of Baitboat Club is you don't talk about Baitboat Club!!!

  6. #6
    Site Regular TAB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Farnborough
    Posts
    601

    Default

    Yes, you would need to hold it as well as the fish. You get used to it pretty quickly though.

  7. #7
    Site Regular TAB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Farnborough
    Posts
    601

    Default

    Sorry, what I forgot to say is that with these remote shutter releases you don't need to point the remote at the camera like you would with info red. This means the remote can be held behind the fish and out of site.

  8. #8
    Site Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Frimley
    Posts
    931

    Default

    Thanks again for your ideas, it gives me a couple of things to look at.
    Oh Kathy Martin....

  9. #9
    Site Connoisseur Dave_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Aldershot
    Posts
    1,199

    Default

    as tutti says, get yourself an intervalometer, very cheap and easy enough to use
    you set the amount of shots and the interval in between( eg 5 shots @ 2 second interval), have a good practise first and be careful to get the right fitting for your camera
    if you want to be really extravagant check out the miops trigger
    Beware the moon........the stairs and the trolley

  10. #10
    Site Connoisseur Dave_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Aldershot
    Posts
    1,199

    Default

    amazon have a neewer one thats fits your camera for 11
    Beware the moon........the stairs and the trolley

  11. #11
    Moderator Hippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Posts
    15,923

    Default

    I have the yonguo (sp?) intervalometer off of ebay. Totally happy with it - I have it set to wait ten seconds, then fire off 30 shots at 2 second intervals - set the camera up, get the fish out, press the go button and pose!

  12. #12
    Site Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Frimley
    Posts
    931

    Default

    I just ordered the Neewer one from Amazon, thanks again for your help.

    I also got sent a link for a Gardner Video on self takes, there are a couple of other bits and pieces on there that will probably be on there way shortly!
    Oh Kathy Martin....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Designed and Developed By: Advanced Web Designs | www.awdltd.co.uk