PDA

View Full Version : mainline



rooky
24-02-2001, 19:42
hi
has anyone ho fishes or has fished with Fox soft steel had any problems with the line, as mine has freyed and snapped very easily i mainly fish with the 15Ib version
cheers rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

alex
24-02-2001, 19:47
A mate of mine had the same problem its nastey stuff use ESP or berkly vanish flurocarbon

Alex The Horseshoe hauler.

Lofte
24-02-2001, 19:49
GR60 is what i use and ive never had a problem!
Lofte
/images/forum/icons/smile.gif

alex
24-02-2001, 19:51
Yeah but ESP is great stuff cheap as well it landed my fish in the picture in heavy weed. I've heard bad things about GR60 as well.

Alex The Horseshoe hauler.

rooky
24-02-2001, 19:51
cheers lads
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Lofte
24-02-2001, 19:56
GR60 for me anyday!
Lofte
/images/forum/icons/smile.gif
its the best!

alex
24-02-2001, 19:57
Personaly i don't like mono any more Fluro is much better.

Alex The Horseshoe hauler.

daytimedave
24-02-2001, 20:13
i used to be a sylcast man
however have been using pro-gold
which i have no complaints about
dtd
tight lines...............

rooky
24-02-2001, 20:23
i think that i am going to go on to suffix Synergy myself as i have some good feedback of it. has anybody used synergy? what do you think of it.
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

CarponlineEditor
24-02-2001, 21:05
For the last two seasons I have been using mainly the GR60 in the 8lb breaking strain and I have no problems with it whatsoever. I have had nearly thirty twenties in that time on it up to over thirty three pounds and not had it break or chaffe once. Excellent line. I do also use the Gardner braid though for more snaggier situations and I have had no problems with this either apart from not being able to cast as far as some other braids.

Andy

rooky
24-02-2001, 21:31
what is the Gardner braid like? very reliable?
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Paulm
24-02-2001, 21:34
Very thick.

Paulm /images/forum/icons/wink.gif

CarponlineEditor
24-02-2001, 21:36
I have found it to be excellent for margin to middle distances. It does take a bit of getting used to when playing bigger fish as you can feel every flick of the line on their tails etc. Heart stopping fights though. I couldnt fault it except as i say on casting as it has a thicker diameter than some other braids.

Andy

rooky
24-02-2001, 21:52
as going on to the match lake next season, i belive this water to be fairly snaggey so i may choose ths braid have you usedthe 15Ib braid? also how much do you think it will cost to spool three shimano big pits up?
cheers rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Boo
24-02-2001, 22:26
I have spools set up with GR60, Fox Soft Steel and Synergy in 15lb, 6lb and 12lb resepectively. So far I have had no problem with any of them. On the other hand I had Trilene on before which became almost serrated to the touch. I was told that the problem was a particularly vicious type of weed that grows in Bray Lake. All of the three lines I now use seem fine, so I guess it's 'horses for courses'!

Sim0n
25-02-2001, 10:04
....I had problems with the Soft Steel....won't touch it again.
Still on the Big Game...can't fault it.
Cheap & reliable especially if you get it from the States.

rooky
25-02-2001, 10:50
out of curiosuty how much is big game when you bring it from the states?
cheers rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Sim0n
25-02-2001, 11:14
...around £4 for a 4oz spool or 900yds of 15lb b.s., but you can buy much bigger bulk spools, which will save you more in the long run.
Simon.

rooky
25-02-2001, 11:19
cheers simon how much does it cost in delivery? and what other lines can you buy?
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Sim0n
25-02-2001, 11:48
.....usually costs me about £300 quid delivery....because I have always stocked up on the stuff, when out there on hols.
You can check out all sorts of gear, on the Bass Pro web site, they have all sorts of braids & lines. Delivery is quite cheap, although if you club together with some friends, that would be a good plan.....
Simon.

rooky
25-02-2001, 11:52
i will check out that site later on cheers simon
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Sim0n
25-02-2001, 12:58
Try <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.basspro.com>Bass Pro Website</A>.....have fun.

rooky
25-02-2001, 13:37
had a look at the site and they have got some good stuff on there cheers simon
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Smarts
25-02-2001, 19:33
Rooky,
I've just changed from Big Game to ESP as a trial,(I won 1000's of metres of the stuff!).This ESP line has not been fieldtested too much as such and we,the punters,are the testers!!
At this mo' I have just praise for it,has not come back rough from snags and when I caught the 12lb in an island tree,(the wind did it...not my casting style!),I could not break the bl**y stuff!
In fact I managed, when pulling straight on the line for a break, to smash a run clip......only after folding my lead in half!! I could not believe it!

Anyway.....so far, so good but we'll see for the future.

PS...Use big spooled reels as I've found it to coil easily on my small baitrunner....

Smarts

rooky
25-02-2001, 19:36
cheers smarts.
another line to lok into. where u fishing this year?
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Dan
25-02-2001, 20:02
GR60 is a sure bet, geat line

rooky
25-02-2001, 20:06
cheers
ive had a few difrent lines put to me but as now from the feedback looks like in favour of gr6o.
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Lofte
25-02-2001, 21:48
Ive used it before and had no trouble although i thought it was cheap crap as it was so cheap im know on GR60 and i feel totally confident in using it although i may take your advice!
Lofte
/images/forum/icons/smile.gif

rooky
25-02-2001, 21:49
ive used it myself and had a few problems with it. lost a few good fish on it but also landed a few aswell.
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

scorpio
25-02-2001, 22:08
I use nothing but Berkley Big game... never had any problems with it. In the lower diameters it tends to kink sometimes on the retrieve but apart from that spot on bit of gear.

Tony

rooky
25-02-2001, 22:16
yea fair comment samp
its what your confident with, and as i have had some not so good experiences with it in the past im just not confident in it anymore doesnt mean that the guy next to me isint confident with it. if your going to use something that your not confident in my book its not worth getting the rods out the sleve.
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

rooky
25-02-2001, 22:48
sos if i offened u mate.
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Paylor
25-02-2001, 22:56
I used sensor for years and it never let me down. Ive used 10lb and 15lb and they were the dogs nutts. Ive recently being using the new diawa infinity duo line and I must say that it seems remarkable. Looks good and is quite thin when compared to other brands.

rooky
25-02-2001, 22:58
seems like i offened a few people here sorry lads. /images/forum/icons/blush.gif
rooky

andy rooke

Paylor
25-02-2001, 23:03
No offences taken. My advice is use what you have had experiance in using and if you have confidence in it then dont change it. Whats everyones opinions on briaded mainlines???????

Lofte
25-02-2001, 23:05
Bloody Expensive!
Lofte
[smiel]

rooky
25-02-2001, 23:10
never tried it what do you think of it paylor?
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Paylor
25-02-2001, 23:16
I only use it on my marker rod. It does increase the feel and the donk of your lead but as lofte says its so expensive. If you go to a sea fishing shop then you can get some braid really cheap. Im not sure whether its any good. As for using braid as a mainline I really do not know. Its lack of strecth could increase hook pulls when using heavy rods (3lb+)
But it also could increase bite indication. Has anyone out there used braid as a mainline???

rooky
25-02-2001, 23:18
which make do u use?
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Paylor
25-02-2001, 23:21
I use the gardner GR500 braid and its very good. But I only use it on my marker rod. Imagine how much it would cost to load up 3 big pits with the stuff??????

rooky
25-02-2001, 23:28
no thanks mate dont want to even think about that lol lol a lot of money.
rooky

andy rooke

Smarts
26-02-2001, 10:01
Rooky,

I'm banging my head against the wall on Yateley's Split Lake at the moment!
I forgot to say....if you want cheap Berkley Big Game then try a shop on the coast.It's offered at about £7 for a 4oz spool!!
I bought up on the 10lb yonks ago,and it had done my reels and my mates for many moons!

Smarts

dolly
26-02-2001, 10:17
Pro gold. a nice supple line and very abrasion resistant,
I also like the weed green colour, i`m currently using diawa sensor, but i`ll change back to pro gold for next season, i can tell the difference between the 2 over time. and i`d rather pay the extra money for something that will last longer.

Dave.

Smarts
26-02-2001, 10:25
Dolly,

I've never used Pro-Gold but it has found a good following in the carp world so must have something going for it....but.....
I was talking to some members of a work party on sunday and we got round to the lines found on trees etc....and therefore onto what we use ourselves.
The guys said that they had been using it briefly and found the abrasion resistance to be pants! They found that when fish went near snags the line parted immediately.
They are changing it now..........

Have you had any problems?

Smarts<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by Smarts on 26/02/01 11:30 AM (server time).</FONT></P>

dolly
26-02-2001, 10:40
I`ve never had a problem with the abrasion resistance maybe i was lucky, but i think its a superb line. And i`ll definatly be spooling up with it again.

Dave

dolly
26-02-2001, 12:46
I change my line 2-3 times a year, but i`ve had daiwa sensor on for a month and it looked and felt terrible, so that would mean changing line anything from 6-12 times a year.
So i think to only change pro gold 2 or 3 times would be cheaper. and as i hate changing my line anyway (boring job) it would suit me fine. Also its a confidence thing i just like pro gold

Lofte
26-02-2001, 12:52
How do you go about removeing old line from your spool it takes me forever and ever!
Lofte
[smiel]

Smarts
26-02-2001, 13:13
I saw in Angler's Mail that Colin Davidson was using a little machine to remove his line.....anyone seen one of these?
Your right!...it takes ages and is soooooo boring, especially on big pit type reels...yawn!

Smarts

dolly
26-02-2001, 13:33
I think its made by gardener.
I could also do with one because at the moment i just take it off by hand.

Dave

paulh
26-02-2001, 19:05
I use maxima chameleon,never let me down yet.
/images/forum/icons/cool.gif /images/forum/icons/cool.gif
paulh

Sim0n
26-02-2001, 20:13
...Berkley manufacture a battery operated device for removing line from your spools....
Personally I just carefully cut through the line with a stanley knife...takes about a minute.

rooky
26-02-2001, 20:15
how much are these?
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Sim0n
26-02-2001, 20:17
...I think about £10...you could buy one from <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.basspro.com>bass pro</A> when ordering some very cheap line/braid....

rooky
26-02-2001, 20:21
cheers mate
had alook through that site last night got some good and cheap stuff.
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

rooky
26-02-2001, 20:37
cheers mate thats a hell of a lot of line to strip of that. did you have anything whilst you were out there?.
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

rooky
26-02-2001, 22:43
id love to stay ther for a month mate. not been abrourd yeta lthough i was going to fish a lake in france called jon quir some big fish come out there last year 62Ib plus mate, small lake about 7-8 acres although may one day fish cassien.
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Sim0n
26-02-2001, 23:00
I agree with you samp, if it's not 1000 acres or larger I don't want to know!

rooky
26-02-2001, 23:03
what i mean guys tat for a lot of french waters its quite not as large as the others, have you been affected by the foot and mouth disease lads?
rooky /images/forum/icons/smile.gif

andy rooke

Sim0n
26-02-2001, 23:15
...I see from your profile sam, you are looking for somewhere new to fish & you are from Horsham. Have you tried Hawkins?...There are some nice fish in there, & I believe it's not that heavily fished lately....

Sim0n
27-02-2001, 10:04
....I'll try to think of a clear one....how far can you travel??
If you see BLANKSTER on-line, give him a shout....he knows a lot of local lakes...

dolly
27-02-2001, 12:43
How about chicester they have many lakes.
Vinnatrow, runcton, Ivy, copse, triangle and some others
Vinnatrow is like tap water, and holds some lovley big old fish, the others are all pretty much clear as well, as siMon said the best bet would be to ask BLANKSTER. he knows them alot more than me.

Dave