PDA

View Full Version : Just Add Water

Matt_C
14-09-2005, 09:30
Before I start I must emphasise that this is not a criticism of any one person, just an observation of a general trend.

I have been fishing since I was about 10 years old, so almost 25 years now. I started out fishing the Thames for whatever was stupid enough to eat my bait. Moved on to catching roach, bream, tench etc from stillwaters, progressing to pike fishing at Wraysbury 2 during the winters in my teens, finally on to carp fishing about 17 years ago, with a short break in there to get married etc...

Although I now class myself as a carp angler, you will often see me crack out the little 4m whip or a float rod to knock out some silver fish when the going is slow. Hate sitting behind motionless buzzers, much rather be getting the floaters out or fishing with a float to catch something even if (god forbid) it's not a carp!

It amazes me these days that there is no natural progression in fishing any more. It seems that people new to the sport want to go straight in catching 30's and that the man sitting watching his float is considered a 'noddy'. I can bet many of these 'noddies' have more angling skill than your average newbee carp angler.

It saddens me to see younguns, new to the sport, contemplating taking on the likes of Horton and the Car Park. Only wanting to catch the biggest straight away without having the enjoyment and satisfaction of actual fishing can bring.

Is this just another indication of society as a whole these days, wanting everything now without really having to work for it?

I cant help thinking that these youngsters (and some not so young) who go straight into carp fishing trying to catch the big boys actually miss the tru essence of what fishing is all about.

davey1
14-09-2005, 09:53